Beautiful by Carole King

When the abuse began six years ago, my brother told me to sing this song to myself.

“You’ve got to get up every morning with a smile on your face
And show the world all the love in your heart
Then people gonna treat you better
You’re gonna find, yes, you will
That you’re beautiful as you feel”

I am a positive person so generally it hasn’t been too hard to do this, as I have this kind of Pollyanna type nature anyhow.  And it many ways it has worked – I have attracted great friends and good job opportunities in to my life.  The abuse, however, has continued, and I am broke and on my own.    There are many dismaying times that I have to work hard to get through and I am blessed with brothers and sisters and many fantastic friends, whose total belief in me and my motives, no matter what my children’s father and the Family Court might say, help me continue on.

What songs have kept other people going?

This entry was posted in Song lyrics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Beautiful by Carole King

  1. JD says:

    Gloria Gaynor’s “I will survive” in particular the chorus, along with the upbeat feel of the song. It’s a great song to listent to as you’re walking – you can lift your head up high and walk with confidence and belief in yourself:

    Did I crumble
    Did I lay down and die
    Oh no, not I! I will survive!
    Oh and as long as I know how to love I know I stay alive.
    I’ve got all my life to live, I’ve got all my love to give.
    And I’ll survive!
    I will survive! Hey, hey.

Leave a comment